Refashioning: From Junk to Majestic

I’ve been making a habit these last couple of weeks of finishing refashioning what I bought all at once. It’s felt really nice, like I have a plan and sticking to it (ha), buuut well, I just might have gone to a $1 sale and brought home another slew of clothes (oops), but that’s for tomorrow’s post.

img_2326img_2315img_2346

This terrible thing had been bothering me for a while. You might remember it from my last thrifting post. This, my friends, is what I’d call the hight of trash-ion, or trash-fashion if you will. I don’t know what else you would call wanting to look like you’re wearing a trash bag. Sack-ion?

Anyway, while I just love the fabric (rayon knit, yum), it pretty much is an abomination. The tie at the side makes my hips look huge, but instead of cutting it up immediately, I decided to take out that horrid tie and see what happened.

f341705421f1783c413aea3c9f004ac1

And suddenly there was potential!

a39b78e12a19901290b3c96d5caaeaac

It reminds me of all sort of post-apocalyptic/punk clothing that don’t make much sense but look really cool. I’ve always wanted something like that, but I could never bring myself to invest in all of the fabric for something that might not even turn out right.This weird thing is the perfect compromise.

39379d0125c9770e7515531c6d586c0b

Putting it on though, I realized I would have sew the ties closed so I wouldn’t have weird holes in my clothes. It was also way baggier than I like, but I liked how it felt like a cape in the back (I’ve been eyeballing capes but most of them look either too fantasy or twee). I also decided that the regular old t-shirt sleeve had to go because the horizontal line of the sleeve clashes with the nice diagonal lines of the draped fabric.

And with a few stitches, a cut, and a slash, sackiness personified turns into this:

223dcdc4b071955a98c3969e9caebcd0

Here is an -almost- completed outfit (sans shoes, as per usual, and makeup). I would wear some skinny black boots, because I just pretty much wear them with everything.

8869dbf0c12d08db09deea7799cb17d7

Here you can see the slash I cut in the cape-y drape-y thing. Since I wanted the back to flow freely, I put a pin where my waist was, put a pin at where the side would have been, and cut the top layer in between the two. I zigzagged around the edges, kinda like a button hole, to attempt to keep it from stretching out.

After that, I added a belt to cinch it in, turning the buckle to the back because it’s hidden by the cape!

It had a lot of swish potential!

(The pupcake this time is my Dad’s dog, Sam. He’s the alpha of our pack, even higher than I am)

While I love it, I do wish the length of the dress was a number of inches longer. Also, while you can’t really see it here, when I re-hemmed the sleeve, it got stretched out a bit, which I’m not jazzed about, but I could cut it smaller later, or add a dart to remove some fullness.

Bonus:

Because I’m a dork I decided to seriously try a drawing program on my tablet.

(btw I can totally draw better than that; little screens are hard and I hate drawing on computers)

Now I just have one simple refashion left in this particular stack, luckily just making something shorter, but now I have this whole other stack and I need to put the finishing touches on my Monthly Stitch entries.

Leave a Reply

