Refashioning: or how many fit and flare dresses do I really need

 

I love fit and flare dresses. They are just gorgeous and all of that fabric hides my impressively large hips. A while ago I found this dress at the thrift store:

IMG_0468

The overall shape is nice, the fabric is a lovely, breezy cotton, and it’s handmade.To top it off, it was on sale 50% off!

IMG_0606

As you can see here though, there’s a lot of fabric around my middle. It took almost no time to refashion, but I just didn’t feel like doing it for a long time.

IMG_1371

It still doesn’t look as fitted as I normally like, so that shows me not to fit over a tank top. I think it probably would look fine if I stood up straight, but I had my brother take these pictures and so I didn’t even look at these until five minutes ago. So these pictures aren’t the best, but the roses came out so there’s something.

IMG_1372

Princess photobombing

IMG_1374

Back view

Pretty much all I did to fix it was take in the princess seams under the bust. I then trimmed the seams and used an overlock stitch on the machine I learned on. This was whipped up the same day I finished refashioning my brown button down (and had machine malfunction).

I do like the outcome, but if I decide it needs to be taken in more, it should only be a quick fix.

Also:

IMG_1376

G taking dog pictures (princess once again)

and

IMG_1370.JPG

The sky right before the photoshoot. It was all gray by the time we were done.

Leave a Reply

