Youtube-ing update #1

So. Youtube. Apparently its going to be a thing in my life, now. The support I got here and over on my facebook was just simply overwhelming. I want to take a moment to thank each and every one of you for your support for this frankly random urge. Because it’s happening, man. This is totally surreal.

Honestly, I’ve accomplished a lot since my first post, going from a hey-this-sounds-like-an-interesting-thing to legit-start-to-a-battle-plan.

First up, I’ve come up with a topic. This was honestly challenging as all get out. It’s a lot like trying to find a topic for a series; finding a thing you’re interested in and won’t get bored of in a few episodes. In order to fulfill these two major criteria, I’ve decided to stick with what I know; how to paint. On some level, it seems a little presumptuous to say that I should be the one talking about it, but I’m going to ignore that voice because it’s wrong.  I’ve gone to school for four and a half years for this, I’ve participated actively in most of our painting critiques, and I help people get ideas during to painting process. I’m good at what I do. Do I have a lot to learn? Yes, but the best way to learn something is to teach it.

At the final critique of my second to last semester, my painting teacher asked me if I was going to go into teaching. At the time, I said no. I don’t get along well with people I don’t like. The way I have for dealing with them does not lend itself to teaching and more than anything I don’t want the shame of giving someone a bad grade simply because I don’t like them. It’s been something that’s bothering me for a long time. I like helping people, love the look on their face when something I say gets them inspired, love the contentment of teaching someone helpful a new skill.

Making videos, when I think about it, is the prefect compromise; I can teach without having to really deal with the confusing complexity of people. I won’t see those glowing faces, but perhaps one day workshops will be in my future.

Where do I expect this to go? I don’t really expect anything. A specific expectation to me always seems like a way of setting myself up for disappointment. It doesn’t mean I won’t do my best, but what’s most important to me is helping people, rather than being famous. Ideally, I want this series to be both a supplement to the classroom and to be a springboard for the untrained, amateur, or beginning artist. This will mean making very G-rated videos, and while that normally does doesn’t bother me, it does make me worry a little about the nude art I do and about sharing the paintings I love. Will it be impossible? No, but I might have to do a lot of brainstorming to come up with a solution.

I don’t know how close I am to publishing my first video. I still need to decide which videos to do first, set up a place to shoot, come up with a name (!), and a million other things, but a lot has come together in these first few days. In the meantime, what are things you wished to know starting out painting, or skills you would like to know? I’m still generating ideas and while it seems like I have a lot, I’m sure I’ll go through them like tea.

Leave a Reply

